The Troubadour Poetry Prize

Troubadour International Poetry Prize 2019

(Check out 2018 — & previous years’ — judges’ reports, winners & poems on our poems page)

judged by kathryn maris & pat boran

  • first prize £2,000
  • second prize £1,000
  • third prize £500
  • plus 20 commendeds

submit via e-mail or post by mon 21 oct 2019


  • Pat Boran is editor of Dedalus Press, is a member of Aosdána, former presenter of The Poetry Programme & The Enchanted Way on RTÉ, has edited numerous anthologies including (with Eugene O’Connell) The Deep Heart’s Core: Irish Poets Revisit a Touchstone Poem & written more than a dozen books of both prose, including The Portable Creative Writing Workshop now in its fourth edition, & poetry, latest collections A Man is Only as Good, & Then Again (Dedalus, 2019).
  • Kathryn Maris was born on Long Island, moved to NYC & has lived in London since 1999: she has taught poetry at Boston University, Gotham Writers’ Workshop, Kingston University &, currently, Poetry School in London; her publications include The Book of Jobs & God Loves You; a selection of her work appeared in Penguin Modern Poets 5: Occasional Wild Parties & her latest collection is The House With Only an Attic and a Basement (Penguin, 2018)

judges will read all poems submitted


  • Poems: Poems may be submitted from any country & must be in English, must each be no longer than 45 lines, must fit on one A4 or US-Letter-size page, must show title & poem only, must not show poet’s name, must be the original work of the entrant (no translations) & must not have been previously broadcast or published in print or online; no text alterations accepted after submission; no limit on number of poems or number of separate submissions from any entrant; failure to comply with all rules results in disqualification.
  • Fees: £5/€6/$7 per poem (Sterling/Euro/US-Dollars only); payment via PayPal (see options at bottom of page, PayPal account not required) OR via cheque (no postal orders or money orders) payable to Coffee-House Poetry.
  • By Post: No entry form required; submit two copies of each poem; include following details on a separate page: Poet’s Name & Address, Phone Number, E-Mail Address (if available), List of Titles, Number of Poems, Total Fees, & EITHER PayPal Receipt Number OR enclose cheque; post to Troubadour International Poetry Prize, Coffee-House Poetry, PO Box 16210, LONDON W4 1ZP; no paperclips or staples, no Special Delivery, Recorded Delivery or Registered Post; entries are not returned.
  • By E-mail: No entry form required; e-mail poems to as attachments (.doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf only); do not send to or; include following details in e-mail: Poet’s Name & Address, Phone Number, List of Titles, Number of Poems, Total Fees, & EITHER PayPal Receipt Number OR send cheque by post as above.
  • E-mail address: By including e-mail address you agree to receiving e-mails regarding annual Troubadour International Poetry Prize. You will not automatically receive regular e-mails regarding Coffee-House Poetry readings & classes unless specifically requested.
  • Timeline: E-mail submissions by midnight (your local time) on Mon 21 Oct 2019; postal entries postmarked on or before Mon 21 Oct 2019. Prize-winners only will be contacted individually in week commencing Mon 25 Nov 2019.
  • Acknowledgement/Results: E-mail entries acknowledged within 14 days of receipt of both entry & payment; postal entrants may include stamped, addressed postcard or envelope marked Acknowledgement &/or stamped, addressed envelope marked Results; results will be posted on website (& mailed to all postal entrants who included a Results envelope) after Mon 26 Nov 2019; no correspondence will be entered into.

Our secure online payments are handled by PayPal.

You don’t need a PayPal account; all major credit cards will be accepted.

To identify your payment:

  • Please note the Receipt Number that PayPal gives you on–screen after completing your payment, and in your payment–receipt e–mail, and include it in your e–mail submission of poems (or on your postal submission).
  • Additionally, only if your PayPal name differs from the Poet’s Name, please include the PayPal name on your e–mail or postal submission. No need to add anything in the ‘Note to Seller’ box.

Our PayPal options allow payment for up to 10 poems at a time. If making a second or subsequent payment, whether immediately or at a later date, there is still no need to add anything in the ‘Note to Seller’ box.

If you are unsure about how to use PayPal, we have provided a page of illustrated instructions.

Poems: copyright © various named authors. All rights reserved.

Other content: copyright © Coffee–House Poetry 2008–2019. All rights reserved.

The Troubadour is at 263–267 Old Brompton Road, London SW5.

See for details, and our contact page for directions and a map.

Website created and hosted by Lab 99 Web Design.